How to disable Fast User Switching in Windows

  • October 12, 2012
  • 08:18 PM
  • Read 132,808 times
 

Table of Contents

 

Introduction

Fast User Switching is a useful feature in Windows that allows you to quickly switch between different accounts on your machine. If it's not used properly, though, it can lead to problems as your computer becomes slow due to the amount of programs that are running at the same time. With this said, many people feel its better to disable Fast User Switching altogether and require people to log off of their accounts before another person can log in. This way only the programs currently being used by the logged in user are running and will have more resources available to them.

This tutorial will explain how to disable Fast User Switching in Windows. As the settings are different in Windows XP than they are in future version, we have broken this tutorial up into two different sections.

 

How to disable Fast User Switching in Windows XP

To disable Fast User Switching in Windows XP, you first need to enter your Control Panel. To do this, click on the Start Button and then select the Control Panel menu option. When the Control Panel opens, you should double-click on the User Accounts icon. This will open up the User Accounts settings screen as shown in the image below.

Registry Tip: You can also disable and enable Fast User Switching by adding the AllowMultipleTSSessions DWORD value to the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon key. If you set AllowMultipleTSSessions to 0 Fast User Switching will be disabled. To enable it again set it to 1.

 

You should now click on the Change the way users log on or off option. This will bring you to another screen that is similar to the one below.

 

 

To disable Fast User Switching, uncheck the checkbox labeled Use Fast User Switch and then click on the Apply Options button. To enable Fast User Switching again, you can repeat these steps but this time put a checkbox in that setting.

 

How to disable Fast User Switching in Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows Vista

If you are using Windows Premium or Starter, then you need to click here to see the instructions on how to disable Fast User Switching.

If you are using Windows Pro or Ultimate then you can disable Fast User Switching through the Group Policy Editor. To access the Group Policy Editor in Windows Vista and Windows 7, click on the Start button and type in Group Policy. You should then see an option called Edit Group Policy. In Windows 8, you should type Group Policy in the Start Screen and then click on the Settings category. The option for Edit Group Policy should now appear.

Click on the Edit Group Policy option and the Group Policy editor will open. Under the Local Computer Policy, expand the tree to the following path:

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\System\Logon

When you see Logon, left click on it to select it as shown in the image below.

 

 

In the right-hand pane you should now see a variety of settings. Double-click on the Hide entry points for Fast User Switching setting and its properties screen will open.

 

 

Select the Enabled radio button and then click on the Apply button. Finally click on the OK button and close the Group Policy Editor. Fast User Switching should now be disabled. If you want to enable this feature in the future, just go back to the same setting and change it to Not Configured.

If you are using Windows Starter Edition or Windows Premium, then you will not have access to the Group Policy Editor. Instead you will need to enable the setting through the Windows Registry. This setting can be enabled by creating the HideFastUserSwitching REG_DWORD value under the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System Registry key and setting it to 1.

If you do not feel comfortable editing the Registry, you can download this Registry file that will make the changes for you:

http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/reg/DisFUS.reg

Just download the above Registry file and double-click on it. When it asks if you wish to merge the data, click on the Yes button.

If you want to enable it again in the future you can download and run this Registry file:

http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/reg/EnFUS.reg

 

 

Users who read this also read:

  • How to remove the Lock option from the Ctrl+Alt+Delete screen in Windows Image
    How to remove the Lock option from the Ctrl+Alt+Delete screen in Windows

    If you do not want users on a computer to be able to have the Lock option when they enter the Ctrl+Alt+Delete keyboard combination, you can disable it via a policy in the Group Policy Editor or via a Registry key.

  • How to switch between accounts in Windows Image
    How to switch between accounts in Windows

    Fast user switching is a feature in Windows that allows you to switch to another user account on the same computer without logging off. This allows multiple users to use the same computer while keeping each account's programs and files open and running in the background. As you can imagine, this can be useful when someone wants to use their computer but another account is logged in with open ...

  • How to log off Windows Image
    How to log off Windows

    To achieve the best performance on your computer, it is suggested that you log off an account instead of switching to another one using Fast User Switching. By logging off an account, all the previous user's programs and files will be closed. This will allow the new account to have access to all of the computer's resources, which will allow it to be faster.

  • How to lock your screen in Windows Image
    How to lock your screen in Windows

    Windows allows you to lock your screen so that others cannot access your computer without entering your password. This is very useful when you need to be away from your computer and do not want other people to use it or access your documents. This tutorial will walk you through locking your screen in all versions of Windows as well as a method of automatically locking your screen when your ...

  • How to shut down or restart Windows Image
    How to shut down or restart Windows

    It is important to know how to properly shut down or restart your computer so that you do not lose data or corrupt important Windows files or Registry locations. Many people think that you shut down your computer simply by pressing the power button. On some configurations, this will work as Windows will recognize that you press the power button and shut it down gracefully. On the other hand, if ...

 

Comments:

blog comments powered by Disqus

Login

Remember Me
Sign in anonymously