Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help Forums Windows Startup Programs Database Spyware and Malware Removal Guides Computer Tutorials Uninstall Database File Database Computer Glossary Computer Resources
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Click here to Register a free account now! )



Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to Bleeping Computer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.
Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Important Announcement: The winners of the BC Million Post contest have been announced. You can read who the winners are at this post.

- BleepingComputer Management
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Drvmon, Legit?
mushie
post Mar 9 2007, 08:07 PM
Post #1


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-December 06
Member No.: 100,271



Hi there. Can someone help me out with Drvmon? Just need to know if it is supposed to be in my startup or not. The searches I did brought up sites I do not really trust, so. . .

C:\Windows\system32\DrvMon.exe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Walkman
post Mar 9 2007, 08:19 PM
Post #2


Forum Addict
Group Icon

Group: Banned
Posts: 1,327
Joined: 18-October 06
From: Planet Earth
Member No.: 90,873



DrvMon.exe is suppose to be in your Startup, IF you installed the program yourself, which is from Alcor Micro is called the Alcor drive monitor.

It's a safe program.

Also, what do you mean about
QUOTE
The searches I did brought up sites I do not really trust, so. . .

I'm not sure too many sites can lie about a file and the descriptions of it, and not be noticed by the world.

Remember this saying:
QUOTE
Trust, but verify ... by Ronald Reagan

If you don't trust a site.. don't trust it, but at least verify the information from them..... and then you'll really have a good reason to trust them or not.


--------------------
Walkman
One Man's Opinion


"What I didn't know yesterday, I know today, and I'll remember it tomorrow"
by Walkman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mushie
post Mar 9 2007, 09:06 PM
Post #3


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-December 06
Member No.: 100,271



Oh, sorry to not be clearer. The sites I was talking about (after a search) were very ambiguous. They just said "it could be bad or it could be fine, but download our program to find out" kind of a thing.

Do you know for what kind of hardware/software I might have installed this Alcor driver?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Walkman
post Mar 9 2007, 09:21 PM
Post #4


Forum Addict
Group Icon

Group: Banned
Posts: 1,327
Joined: 18-October 06
From: Planet Earth
Member No.: 90,873



From what i understand, that program is actually a drive monitor. It just monitors all processes running on your computer.

Check out this page..
http://www.justtext.com/processes-tasks/drvmon-exe.html

[Added info]
You did the right thing by not allowing sites to get you to download programs just to tell you what's on your computer. I'm so glad to know you didn't do it.

This post has been edited by Walkman: Mar 10 2007, 12:41 AM


--------------------
Walkman
One Man's Opinion


"What I didn't know yesterday, I know today, and I'll remember it tomorrow"
by Walkman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
groovicus
post Mar 9 2007, 11:28 PM
Post #5


Hail Groovicus!
******

Group: Site Admin
Posts: 6,215
Joined: 5-June 04
From: Vermillion, SD
Member No.: 689



QUOTE
It just monitors all processes running on your computer.


Where did you get that tidbit of information? hysterical.gif

mushie, it is a drive monitor, as the name implies. Do you have any of these products on your system?
http://www.alcormicro.com/products.php

If you are still in doubt, you can upload the file to Jotti's, and it will tell you for sure if there is a problem:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/


Here are half a dozen different places that have that file in their Hijackthis log. As you can see, it is not once recommended for removal.
http://forum.piriform.com/lofiversion/index.php/t2074.html
http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=129412
http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?p=73814
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17765283
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?sh...mp;#entry518623
http://forum.aumha.org/viewtopic.php?p=127...ac4e159d211d729

It is not malicious, and nothing to worry about. Any one of the HJT team here would tell you the same.

Best regards. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Walkman
post Mar 10 2007, 12:39 AM
Post #6


Forum Addict
Group Icon

Group: Banned
Posts: 1,327
Joined: 18-October 06
From: Planet Earth
Member No.: 90,873



I meant drive monitor, and not process monitor... a tidbit of a mistake on my part.

No harm was done, especially since I've provided a link to a site where the information could be verified.

Thanks for the correction groovicus

This post has been edited by Walkman: Mar 10 2007, 03:04 AM


--------------------
Walkman
One Man's Opinion


"What I didn't know yesterday, I know today, and I'll remember it tomorrow"
by Walkman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mushie
post Mar 10 2007, 03:48 PM
Post #7


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 9-December 06
Member No.: 100,271



Cool beans. Thanks for all the help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2008 - 08:54 PM


Advertise   |   About Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Chat   |   Tutorials   |   Uninstall List
Discussion Forums   |   The Computer Glossary   |   Resources   |   RSS Feeds   |   Startups   |   The File Database   |   Malware Removal Guides

© 2003-2008 All Rights Reserved Bleeping Computer LLC.