BleepingComputer.com: Is it me or the site?

Jump to content

Forum Rules

When posting your problem, do not run and post a ComboFix log. ComboFix is a tool that should only be run under the supervision of someone who has been trained in its use. Using it on your own can cause problems with your computer. Any posts containing CF Logs will be ignored.

To receive help, you should instead provide a detailed description of your problem, detailed word-for-word error messages that you are receiving, screenshots of strange behaviour, and your operating system. This information is much more useful to our helpers than a ComboFix log.


If you have not received help after three days, please post a link to your topic HERE.
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is it me or the site?

#1 User is offline   Rhylan 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 20-June 11

Posted 20 June 2011 - 12:36 PM

Hi Guys
I wanted to visit the website of the lyricist Don black today and something really weird happened. Typed in Don Black at google and clicked the first link (www.donblack.co.uk) and it asked if I wanted to donwload a file. Said NO and then every link on the google page was pointing to somewhere else when I hovered over them and noticed that the google address had changed. So I CCleaned my cache and tried again and all was okay. But funny thing is I tried it on another of my comps and the same thing happened! So is it their site thats screwed up or have I got a problem. By the way the file it wanted me to download was from "existence4.reddingtaxcm.com" but cant find any info on it.



Cheers

#2 User is online   quietman7 

  • Bleepin' Janitor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 25,517
  • Joined: 09-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted 20 June 2011 - 01:40 PM

You can always check suspicious sites using:
-- I recommend using several different vendors when performing queries to confirm the results.

If the site is clean and you're not having further issues, then it's possible you may have accidentally encountered an innocuous-looking banner ad containing code which can triggered a pop-up ads or malicious Flash ad. Ads are a target for hackers because they offer a stealthy way to distribute malware to a wide range of Internet users.

In any case, I also recommend you perform a full system scan with your anti-virus and anti-malware programs just to be sure. Using CCleaner is not enough.
Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2007-2012 Posted Image
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users