Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help and Spyware Removal Computer Help Forums Windows Startup Programs Database Virus, Spyware, and Malware Removal Guides Computer Tutorials Uninstall Database File Database Computer Glossary Computer Resources
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Click here to Register a free account now! )



Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to Bleeping Computer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.
Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Malware via Legitimate Sites, i had a hunch..
jeff___H
post Oct 28 2009, 01:46 PM
Post #1


New Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Philly Burbs
Member No.: 393,305



When my machine became infected last week, I suspected that it came through a legitimate site, and that it exploited Adobe. According to the following article, it looks like my hunch was correct:

http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2009/10/gawker/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ken-in-West-Seat...
post Nov 7 2009, 12:58 AM
Post #2


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 389
Joined: 29-October 09
Member No.: 396,308



yep. I got hit by one back in July. Posted to a local papers comments section before they knew enough to lock it down. But it made me go through all my puters and update the reader bho's and flash blockers and all my old versions of acrobat.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerger
post Nov 9 2009, 02:17 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 9-November 09
Member No.: 400,513



i've been pretty lucky with prevention so far on win7 with microsoft security essentials x64...
anyone know if it checks websites in addition to files when doing its lookup? might be useful for these cases


--------------------
for what its worth
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nawtheasta
post Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 10-February 08
From: New England, USA
Member No.: 189,491



I don’t exactly what just happened but about an hour ago I looked at Drudge and there was a link about a story where NASA was going to debunk the 2012 myth. Clicking this brought me to Breitbart and suddenly Adobe acrobat starts to open. This seemed weird.. McAfee alerted that NetMeeting chat wanted access to the internet , which I blocked.
I closed everything but Firefox was hung up. When I would click the Firefox Icon I got a box saying Firefox was running. Closed this box with task manager. Did an MBAM scanned that turned up nothing. Did a restart. Firefox and everything else seems Ok.
Could this be the Adobe vulnerability others have mentioned or was I just paranoid?
Regards
Nawtheasta.
P.S. Where is the best safe place to go to update Adobe?? Is there a link in BP?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ken-in-West-Seat...
post Nov 10 2009, 09:46 AM
Post #5


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 389
Joined: 29-October 09
Member No.: 396,308



The current adobe reader has a "check for updates" in the help menu. I don't remember seeing it in older versions.

Secunia vulnerability scanner pointed me to a lot of updates.

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nawtheasta
post Nov 10 2009, 01:17 PM
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 10-February 08
From: New England, USA
Member No.: 189,491



Thanks Ken
I found the download link here on BP ( Resources / Must have software) . Did the download last night. Still don't know if I tripped up a legitimate application and panicked because it did not look right or if I really dodged a bullet.
Anyway the computer seems ok.
Best Regards
Nawtheasta
P.S. Thanks, I will check out Secunia

This post has been edited by Nawtheasta: Nov 10 2009, 01:18 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stang777
post Nov 12 2009, 04:55 PM
Post #7


Just Hoping To Help
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,531
Joined: 30-December 08
From: Utah
Member No.: 275,768



Nawtheasta, when I go to a lot of legit sites my firewall notifies me that Adobe is trying to open, so I would not worry about that one. Net Meeting trying to access the web seems more weird than Adobe opening.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nawtheasta
post Nov 12 2009, 10:24 PM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 140
Joined: 10-February 08
From: New England, USA
Member No.: 189,491



Hi Stang777
This was the first time I have noticed Adobe start to open when I clicked a link to Breitbart in Drudge. Firewall did not alert about it. It just started to open. I have never used NetMeeting so it did not really know what was going on but suspected it could be bad.
I just did a Google search for Breitbart Malware. One of the results was an article from May of this year by Errata Security that mentioned a SQL injection vulnerability ( I don’t have a clue what this means) in Breitbart. The article states that this means that hackers have probably compromised this site.
I always assumed that sites like Drudge would be safe but I guess you never know for sure.
Best Regards
Nawtheasta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th March 2010 - 09:07 PM


Advertise   |   About Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map   |   Chat   |   Tutorials   |   Uninstall List
Discussion Forums   |   The Computer Glossary   |   Resources   |   RSS Feeds   |   Startups   |   The File Database   |   Virus Removal Guides

© 2003-2010 All Rights Reserved Bleeping Computer LLC.