BleepingComputer.com: Ad-Networks used for malware

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ad-Networks used for malware including Google's doubleclick

#1 User is offline   Romeo29 

  • Learning To Bleep
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: BC Advisor
  • Posts: 2,834
  • Joined: 06-July 08
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted 23 September 2009 - 10:34 PM

Cyber criminals somehow managed to place malicious advertisement on networks like Google's DoubleClick, YieldManager and FastClick.
As a result many web sites who used these ad networks started to serve malware to their users - including DrudgeReport.com, Horoscope.com and Lyrics.com.
The malicious advertisements infected users computer with Win32/Alureon trojan horse.

Reference:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/172527/drud...icious_ads.html

#2 User is offline   Swordie 

  • Distinguished Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 789
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami, Florida

Posted 24 September 2009 - 02:55 PM

Are you serious? Is that even possible to hook themselves onto those sites?

Thankfully, I have No Script and all 3 of those websites will need my approval to show any javascript/flash objects.
Who said I couldn't have everything?

#3 User is offline   Skydie 

  • Forum Regular
  • PipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 295
  • Joined: 23-January 09

Posted 24 September 2009 - 03:23 PM

To be honest who actually clicks on Advertisments on sites they're just browsing though? I always treat them as suspicous.

#4 User is offline   Swordie 

  • Distinguished Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 789
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami, Florida

Posted 24 September 2009 - 03:36 PM

True, no one does, but sometimes these adverts automatically download onto your computer.. Although sometimes you need prior acceptance to that.
Who said I couldn't have everything?

#5 User is offline   bluesjunior 

  • Distinguished Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 726
  • Joined: 06-October 06

Posted 30 September 2009 - 05:47 AM

I notice they never gave the names of the three AV programs which found the virus. LOL
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3, CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 450 Processor, Memory: OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz,Graphics: PowerColor HD 5750 1GB GDDR5,
PSU: Corsair 430W CX PSU 4x SATA 1x PCI-E, Hard Drive:Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache.

#6 User is offline   Evil Ira 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 09-April 09

Posted 30 September 2009 - 02:04 PM

AdBlock Plus FTW!!

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users