BleepingComputer.com: wkdstore a worm?

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

wkdstore a worm? what to do now?

#1 User is offline   dominose 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 29-February 08

Posted 16 March 2009 - 07:58 AM

Avira complained that WkDStore has recognition pattern of WORM/Mabezat.B.91
How could I find out if this is a false alarm?
Just delete it? It's in quarantine.
thanks
Laura

This post has been edited by dominose: 16 March 2009 - 08:28 AM


#2 User is offline   Jacee 

  • Bleeping entraÎner
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Malware Response Instructor
  • Posts: 3,681
  • Joined: 24-September 04
  • Gender:Female

Posted 16 March 2009 - 12:04 PM

Quote

File WkDStore.exe is located in a subfolder of "C:\Program Files".

Some malware camouflage themselves as WkDStore.exe, particularly if they are located in c:\windows or c:\windows\system32 folder


Do you know the 'path' of the quarantined file?

Read more:
http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/virusencyc...=PE_MABEZAT.B-O

This post has been edited by Jacee: 16 March 2009 - 12:07 PM

Posted Image
MS MVP Windows-Security 2006-2012
Member of UNITE, the Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

Admin PC Pitstop

#3 User is offline   dominose 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 29-February 08

Posted 16 March 2009 - 01:16 PM

View PostJacee, on Mar 16 2009, 01:04 PM, said:

Quote

File WkDStore.exe is located in a subfolder of "C:\Program Files".

Some malware camouflage themselves as WkDStore.exe, particularly if they are located in c:\windows or c:\windows\system32 folder


Do you know the 'path' of the quarantined file?

Read more:
http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/virusencyc...=PE_MABEZAT.B-O


I uploaded a copy of the "false alarm" to Avira, which is the antivirus program I'm using. They'll tell me what it is.

I looked online for typical things this worm does and I didn't find any such files on my computer, so I think it's a false alarm.

thanks
Laura

#4 User is offline   usasma 

  • Still visually handicapped, new avatar (a camel) :0)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16,690
  • Joined: 02-October 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southeastern CT, USA

Posted 16 March 2009 - 04:17 PM

Use this web page to double check: http://virusscan.jotti.org

FWIW - I don't let anything dubious sit on my system long enough to visit Jotti - I quarantine it immediately!
- John
**If you need a more detailed explanation, please ask for it. I have the Knack. **

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users