BleepingComputer.com: Malware Targeting Adobe Flash Player

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Malware Targeting Adobe Flash Player Now sending fake CNN.com Daily Top Ten spam

#1 User is offline   quietman7 

  • Bleepin' Janitor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 25,511
  • Joined: 09-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted 06 August 2008 - 07:04 AM

Quote

Adobe has issued a Security Bulletin warning of malware spreading via a fraudulent Flash Player installer. Adobe warns that a worm is making fraudulent posts on social networking sites. These posts include links that lead to fake sites that prompt users to update their versions of Flash Player. If users attempt to use the installer to make the update, malware may be downloaded and installed onto their systems...

http://www.us-cert.gov/current/#malware_ta...be_flash_player
Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2007-2012 Posted Image
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

#2 User is offline   samuel3 

  • Forum Addict
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,224
  • Joined: 13-June 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2008 - 07:58 AM

Cheers for the heads up.

This post has been edited by samuel3: 06 August 2008 - 03:36 PM


#3 User is offline   Papakid 

  • Guru at being a Newbie
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Malware Response Team
  • Posts: 6,019
  • Joined: 08-April 04
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2008 - 12:09 PM

This is related to New Worms Target Both Myspace And Facebook Users

Another recent development is that this malware is now being distributed by fake CNN.com emails. Probably being sent out by the zombie computers of infected users that fell for the trick at social networking sites.

See Donna's post here: Malware SPAM: CNN.com Daily Top 10, get_flash_update.exe

I'll edit this topic title as I got one of these fake CNN.com's Daily Top Ten emails and it was hard to tell that it was a fake. Not your typical phishing type.

Other links:

Adobe's Product Security Incident Response Team (PSIRT) report:
http://blogs.adobe.com/psirt/2008/08/verif...installers.html

According to this blog the new malware is defined by some anitvirus vendors as a Storm variant:
http://phreads.blogspot.com/2008/08/cnn-sp...e-campaign.html
And I may be obliged to defend
Every love every ending
Or maybe there's no obligations now,
Maybe I've a reason to believe
We all will be received
In Graceland--Paul Simon

#4 User is offline   quietman7 

  • Bleepin' Janitor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 25,511
  • Joined: 09-July 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted 06 August 2008 - 01:13 PM

Thanks for the additional info Papakid. :thumbsup:
Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2007-2012 Posted Image
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users