BleepingComputer.com: Irfanview And Virustotal

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Irfanview And Virustotal Need help...

#1 User is offline   AlchemicEND 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 07-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

  Posted 30 March 2008 - 06:46 PM

Just downloaded IrfanView an used VirusTotal on it like I do everything I download just to be safe. An VirusTotal found the following:

Antivirus Version Last Update Result

eSafe 7.0.15.0 2008.03.18 suspicious Trojan/Worm
Prevx1 V2 2008.03.21 Heuristic: Suspicious File With Outbound Communications
Sunbelt 3.0.978.0 2008.03.18 ], [

I downloaded it by going to Irfanview.com and using the link there to download it from download.com.

This post has been edited by AlchemicEND: 30 March 2008 - 06:47 PM


#2 User is offline   skyfuser 

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: 23-November 07
  • Location:California

Posted 30 March 2008 - 07:42 PM

Download.com is definitely a safe site.
They're most likely false positives. As for Prevx, it's using heuristics which is just paranoid off all similar behavior. IrfanView is probably having outbound connections to check for updates or something.
"If a man is offered a fact which goes against his instincts, he will scrutinize it closely, and unless the evidence is overwhelming, he will refuse to believe it. If, on the other hand, he is offered something which affords a reason for acting in accordance to his instincts, he will accept it even on the slightest evidence. The origin of myths is explained in this way." - Bertrand Russell

#3 User is offline   jgweed 

  • Forum Addict
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 27,603
  • Joined: 11-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, Il.

Posted 31 March 2008 - 10:02 AM

IrvanView is used by many security-conscious Members here at BC (of whom I am one), and you have downloaded it from a "safe" site. So Skyfuser's explanation makes sense. If you are unsure, you can use one of the many on-line AVs to validate your AV's report.
Regards,
John
Whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should be silent.

#4 User is offline   AlchemicEND 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 07-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 31 March 2008 - 12:08 PM

Alright thanks for the help both of you. I feel safer using it now after hearing what you guys said.

#5 User is offline   tg1911 

  • Lord Spam Magnet
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Find Topics
  • Group: Site Admin
  • Posts: 18,568
  • Joined: 06-May 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Louisiana

Posted 31 March 2008 - 07:47 PM

Quote

Q: Does IrfanView contain Spyware or Viruses, etc.?
A: NO. If your anti virus program reports a virus or spyware in IrfanView downloaded from the official homepages, you should either update the anti virus program or use a better one.
Irfanview - FAQs
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P, CPU: Phenom II X4 955 Deneb BE, HS/F: CoolerMaster V8, RAM: 2 x 1G Kingston HyperX DDR2 800, GPU: eVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+, PSU: Antec TruePower Modular 750W, Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, Case: CoolerMaster COSMOS 1000, Storage: Internal - 2 x Seagate 250GB SATA, 2 x WD 1TB SATA; External - Seagate 500GB USB, WD 640GB eSATA, 3 x WD 1TB eSATA

Become a BleepingComputer fan: Facebook

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users