Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Avast Unable To Scan Files

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 magfee

magfee

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:34 AM

Posted 07 March 2007 - 07:23 AM

Hi im new to computers have you any idea why these files are not being scanned?
fall scan run with avast, nothing shows as infected, but some files unable to scan.
The reason given is CAB and RAR archives are corrupted.
Is this normal how can i fix it? Was going to post corrupted files but results have dissapeared.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 fozzie

fozzie

aut viam inveniam aut faciam

• Members
  • 3,516 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:34 PM

Posted 07 March 2007 - 08:11 AM

Welcome at BC magfee Why not try the following
In normal mode, run an online antivirus check from at least two and preferably three of the following sites
BitDefender
Computer Associates Online Virus Scan
Panda's ActiveScan
Trend Micro Housecall
Windows Live Safety Center Free Online Scan
This scanner from Trend does not require an Active X to run.

1. Detects and removes malware ( viruses, worms, trojans, etc. )
2. Detects and removes grayware and spyware
3. Restores damage caused by malware to your system.
4. Notifies about vulnerabilities in installed programs and connected network services.
5. Multi-platform support for: Windows, Linux, Solaris.