Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 7 takes 20+ minutes to load fully

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Gaurav Dharmani

Gaurav Dharmani

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:47 AM

Posted 07 August 2013 - 10:44 AM

Hi fellas

I'm not an expert at all so please guide me out in detail. I own a Dell Inspiron 15R laptop with 4gb RAM and 1TB hard disk with roughly 715gb of free space. When i boot the laptop, it takes me roughly 15+ mins to reach the administrative password screen and additional 5 to 10 mins to reach the desktop. I dont have any viruses according to my McAffee scans and nor do I have too many heavy softwares installed (only Adobe's photoshop, after effects and premiere which could be called heavy). What's wrong? I'm tired of figuring it out and tech babble on most forums wore me out.. Please help urgently! 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rotor123

rotor123

• 7,101 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:17 PM

Posted 07 August 2013 - 11:04 AM

Hi, I've seen this problem with a heavily Malware infested computer.

Note: that McAfee does not catch everything, No Antivirus does.

Next possible cause is the hard drive going bad. To test the drive since it is a Dell.