Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

All files on external hard drive invisible

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Emnet

Emnet

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:35 PM

Posted 13 April 2010 - 12:26 AM

I am a teacher so I regularly prepare powerpoints and things to show my students in the various centres I teach at. Unfortunately, most of the computers in the centres are riddled with viruses. I have one flash drive that I use and every time I plug it in to those computers it gets the virus that makes the folders invisible and creates a file with the same name as the folder it made invisible, thereby looking like the folder but actually an .exe, sorry I forgot what the virus is called. When I plug it back into my computer, thankfully I have nod32 and it gets rid of the viruses. This happens every time but since it hasn't produced any bad results besides having to change the folders back to visible again, I've tolerated it.