Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Bios Does Not Recognize Cd-rw Drive

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Bowdie4th

Bowdie4th

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:17 PM

Posted 06 June 2008 - 06:05 PM

I'm a first-timer for a tech forum. This issue has really stumped me and I've run out of thoughts on what to do.
Working on a PC for a friend - usual clean-up, defrag, upgrading memory, etc... First turned the system on &
received the error "Secondary Drive 0 not found".

Here are the specifics:

DELL Dimension 3000
DELL Motherboard ON6381 (E210882)
Phoenix BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A03 (latest update per DELL)
Intel 865G Chipset Family
CD-RW is a Samsung SW-252S/DNR (on Window HCL list)

What I've done to date:

Several AntiVirus & AntiSpyware scans & cleanup
Registry Cleanup
Removed Upper & Lower Filters for the CD drive in the registry
Updated all Intel drivers (Including Intel Ultra ATA Storage Controller)
Tested the CD-RW drive & IDE cable - both working fine in my system.
Cleared the NVRAM
Forced an Auto Detect (automatic IDE configuration) in the BIOS several times.
Edited the Config file to try and force the CD-RW recognition & IRQ
Default jumper setting per DELL is Cable Select, but tried the Master setting
Device Manager shows the Secondary IDE Channel
Installed the HDD in the Secondary IDE Channel & HDD came up fine