Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Home Page Changed
BleepingComputer.com > Internet & Networking > Web Browsing/Email and Other Internet Applications
   
Dennis H
Howdy,

When I click on my home page instead of the intended site I am getting a site full of advertisements calling itself by the same name.

I Googled the proper site and it shows up. When I click on it the same thing happens. I have had this same site as my home page for 4 years. It is a fishing web site that includes different forums etc; Very similar to Bleeping Computers set up.


Now all I get is this. http://www.tidalfish.com/


I downloaded Zone Alarm as my firewall just before this started happening.


Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks for your time.

Dennis smile.gif


EDIT: I happened to be on another fishing related web site and saw a post from a frequent visitor to the site I am trying to log on to. His post indicated that he was having the same access problems as I am having. Apparently the site itself is having problems and it is not on my end after all.

Thanks,

Dennis

Moderator Edit: Moved topic to more appropriate forum. ~ Animal
.Reedie
Try changing the home page settings on your browser, close the browser down and then open it back up again and see what happens.
Dennis H
Thanks for the reply.
I changed my home page to Yahoo. When I log on it works fine.

Just to mention.

When I try to get on the fishing site from my favorites I have the same problem.

I other fellow I mentioned said he is ending up with a site advertising mattresses. huh.gif

Maybe the site got hacked ??


Dennis smile.gif
.Reedie
That MAY be a possibility but i would run a Spyware scan and Definitly an Adware scan such as Lavasoft Ad-Aware.

See what that picks up. Have you tried with another browser? Such as Firefox, ect?
Dennis H
I ran SpyBot, Ad-Aware and AVG Free. They all came up clean other than 1 tracking cookie.

I do not have another browser set up.

I thought it especially odd that when I type in TidalFish in google the site shows as the very first choice but when I clicked on it up pops the wrong page. All of the other sites I have stored in my favorites are working fine.


Dennis
usasma
The page that you cited is what looks to be a placeholder that's used to direct traffic for it's own purposes.

It looks like the domain name was purchased on 12 May 2007 by www.enom.com . Here's a link to the WhoIs: http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=tidalfish&tld=com
Dennis H
QUOTE(usasma @ May 14 2007, 07:34 PM) *
The page that you cited is what looks to be a placeholder that's used to direct traffic for it's own purposes.

It looks like the domain name was purchased on 12 May 2007 by www.enom.com . Here's a link to the WhoIs: http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=tidalfish&tld=com


You are right on the money. The guy that owns\owned the site apparently either did not renew or sold the domain name. The site has been around for several years. Approximately 50,000 registered members.

Maybe he got fed up with it ,or got a good price.

Thanks for the information.

Dennis smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.