Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Drvmon
BleepingComputer.com > Bleeping Computer Applications and Guides > Windows Startup Programs Database
   
mushie
Hi there. Can someone help me out with Drvmon? Just need to know if it is supposed to be in my startup or not. The searches I did brought up sites I do not really trust, so. . .

C:\Windows\system32\DrvMon.exe
Walkman
DrvMon.exe is suppose to be in your Startup, IF you installed the program yourself, which is from Alcor Micro is called the Alcor drive monitor.

It's a safe program.

Also, what do you mean about
QUOTE
The searches I did brought up sites I do not really trust, so. . .

I'm not sure too many sites can lie about a file and the descriptions of it, and not be noticed by the world.

Remember this saying:
QUOTE
Trust, but verify ... by Ronald Reagan

If you don't trust a site.. don't trust it, but at least verify the information from them..... and then you'll really have a good reason to trust them or not.
mushie
Oh, sorry to not be clearer. The sites I was talking about (after a search) were very ambiguous. They just said "it could be bad or it could be fine, but download our program to find out" kind of a thing.

Do you know for what kind of hardware/software I might have installed this Alcor driver?
Walkman
From what i understand, that program is actually a drive monitor. It just monitors all processes running on your computer.

Check out this page..
http://www.justtext.com/processes-tasks/drvmon-exe.html

[Added info]
You did the right thing by not allowing sites to get you to download programs just to tell you what's on your computer. I'm so glad to know you didn't do it.
groovicus
QUOTE
It just monitors all processes running on your computer.


Where did you get that tidbit of information? hysterical.gif

mushie, it is a drive monitor, as the name implies. Do you have any of these products on your system?
http://www.alcormicro.com/products.php

If you are still in doubt, you can upload the file to Jotti's, and it will tell you for sure if there is a problem:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/


Here are half a dozen different places that have that file in their Hijackthis log. As you can see, it is not once recommended for removal.
http://forum.piriform.com/lofiversion/index.php/t2074.html
http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showtopic=129412
http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?p=73814
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17765283
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?sh...mp;#entry518623
http://forum.aumha.org/viewtopic.php?p=127...ac4e159d211d729

It is not malicious, and nothing to worry about. Any one of the HJT team here would tell you the same.

Best regards. smile.gif
Walkman
I meant drive monitor, and not process monitor... a tidbit of a mistake on my part.

No harm was done, especially since I've provided a link to a site where the information could be verified.

Thanks for the correction groovicus
mushie
Cool beans. Thanks for all the help!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.