Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mycorkboard.com
BleepingComputer.com > General Topics > General Chat
   
Lily Livered
I had this desktop corkboard a long time ago when I got my first computer, but never knew if it caused any problems (like spyware and all that).

http://mycorkboard.com/

I'm just wondering if anyone knows if it's SAFE. I'd like to have it again, but don't really know what to look for or how to tell if it would be safe. I'd also like to recommend it to someone, but won't without knowing if it would be safe to do so.

It's a corkboard type screensaver/wallpaper with add-ons like sticky notes, calendars, clocks, nameplates, pictures......like a real corkboard almost. There are lots of different add-ons, some with holiday and other themes.

There was one part I just now saw, about removing certain add-ons when you're tired of them. It said Please allow us to install our Browser Plug-in....would that be safe or not?
http://mycorkboard.com/CleanUp.asp

Can anyone look at their site and see if there's anything that would be cause to discourage this download? Please. and Thanks.
TMacK
I use Firefoxes extension McAfee Site Advisor and this is my screenshot when I Googled that site.

IMHO,I wouldn't go there.
jgweed
You are well-advised always to do some research before downloading such stuff (fun/pretty/helpful), since much of it contains mild malware, or simply gunks up your system (their code is not always the most elegant).

A quick scan on Google did not find any information indicating it contained malware, and several reputable sources (PCWorld, for example) have it available for downloading. Since reputable sites generally preview and test anything they list, this is another clue that it performs reasonably well and does not contain ad- or spy-ware.

Regards,
John
tg1911
The reasons SiteAdvisor red flags the site:
QUOTE
In our tests, we found downloads on this site that some people consider adware, spyware, or other unwanted programs.

BUNDLED SOFTWARE: ClearSearch
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/mycorkboard.com/downloads/


It also links to 3 other red flagged sites (http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/mycorkboard.com):
netflip.com
killerfreebies.com
free-search.com

I would stay away from it.
Lily Livered
I did almost download it when I saw the PCWorld download, but thought I'd better try and find out more first.

Thank you all very much for your knowledgeable replies.
tg1911
You're welcome, Lily Livered.
Glad to help.
TMacK
Your welcome Lily Livered
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.