Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Interesting dangerous email
BleepingComputer.com > Security > Breaking Virus & Security News
   
Herk
As I was writing an email reply tonight, a new message popped into OE. It was apparently from someone named "Hayward" IIRC, and the subject was "activation."

Stupidly, I clicked on it before finishing the reply, in order to delete it. My ISP has pretty good filters, but sometimes something like this slips through.

It immediately popped up a "download-on-demand" box, followed by a "download location" box. it didn't say what it was going to download . . .

The focus stayed on the location box, no matter what I did. The X in the corner would not close it, and I couldn't do anything else. Finally, I killed Outlook Express.

When it restarted, that message was still highlighted, but the message that OE hadn't been shut down correctly appeared and the message wasn't displayed. Justincase, I saved the email in My Documents and deleted it from the inbox, immediately emptying my deleted items folder.

Anyone familiar with it?

I also ran AVG and Hijack This, though I was pretty certain I'd stopped it. Everything looks clean. (No, I didn't click on any attachments!)
cowsgonemadd3
Well not with that one! But got a bad one from a fake ebay scam! Grinler I dont have permission to post here I dont think but it needs to get out......where can I post it if you read this!?
Grinler
You should be able to post here cows....

Herk can you forward the email to grinler@yahoo.com so I can take a look at it?
Herk
QUOTE(Grinler @ Sep 28 2004, 09:05 AM)
Herk can you forward the email to grinler@yahoo.com so I can take a look at it?

I sent it to you as an attachment.
Grinler
Have not received it as of yet...did you zip the attachment?
Herk
QUOTE(Grinler @ Sep 28 2004, 11:25 AM)
Have not received it as of yet...did you zip the attachment?

No, I didn't Zip it - perhaps I should have. Maybe your ISP has better filters than mine. smile.gif

I'll try again, zipped this time.
Grinler
got it this time smile.gif

Cant get to the site it has in the link now though
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.