Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Phony hotmail page?
BleepingComputer.com > Security > AntiVirus, Firewall and Privacy Products and Protection Methods
   
Travis_C
Today I signed into MSN messenger and noticed that I had a few unread mail messages but when I clicked on the link it redirected me to what I'm sure is a false hotmail page. The name of it is "Cb1.msn.com". Once it redirected it me to that page a box popped up saying "Mozilla Firefox does not recognize the certificate on this page, This could possibly be a fake site that is trying to steal your information." It then gave me 3 options, 1) to accept the new certificate the site had made 2) to not accept it but to proceed accessing the site and 3) to not accept the certificate and to not connect to the site; I chose #3 and closed the browser. I have since tried to access the hotmail page but I'm not sure if the link is valid and wanted to make sure the site is legit before entering my password.


When I type in " www.Hotmail.com " it brings me to this page: http://login.passport.net/uilogin.srf?lc=1033&id=2

When I type in " www.login.passport.net " it brings me to this page: http://login.passport.net/uilogin.srf?lc=1033


Also, When I usually try to sign into Hotmail the address bar will turn yellow to show me that it is an encrypted page but it didn't do that this time.


Thank you in advance to anyone who can help me with this.

~ Travis
st0nedsk8er
to hell with hotmail!! use gmail, if you are interested, i will give you an invite, just PM me with your email address or even post it here..
tg1911
If you want a G-mail invite, PM st0nedsk8er with your E-mail address.
Do not post it in the forum.
Scarlett
Travis_C seems to some sort of security problem going on with his computer. So for now aquiring an GMail account is the least of his worries.

If someone can help him, please do so.



I will be moving this to the AntiVirus, Firewall and Privacy Products and Protection Methods forum.
Leurgy
Both those sites are legitimate Hotmail Logins. Ignore the warning you are getting and accept the certificate or login without accepting it.
Travis_C
Okay, Thank you very much.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.