Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Urgent Warning
BleepingComputer.com > General Topics > General Chat
   
El_Tel
Message from my Guest Book

El Tel
30 July 21:08

(http://PicturesInPastels.spaces.live.com/)


Hi... To all who use MSN

URGENT WARNING

Someone is SPOOFING MSN... A Spawn Eyed Low Life B%$^*!~ is using your MSN contact list sending you an MSN, he appears on-line leaves a link with you name in it; then goes off-line almost straight away.

DON'T CLICK ON THE LINK you have been warned...

Regards

El Tel
xXAlphaXx
Yeah, I have seen a lot of that before. One of my friends computers was infected and it would do this.

It would be like "This picture is so cool!" and it would give you a download link.

In my experience this is what you should keep in mind;

IF SOME ONE SENDS YOU SOMETHING OUT OF THE BLUE ON WINDOWS LIVE MESSENGER RESPOND AND SAY SOMETHING IF THEIR IS NO RESPONSE !!DO NOT DOWNLOAD IT!! THAT IS BEGGING FOR TROUBLE.
samuel3
My sister has this virus, she scanned with AVG 8.0, spybot, and ad-adware, and nothing had been found, anyone know any idea's on how to get rid of it?
Animal
Please do not post requests for help with possible infections described in this thread.

Create a new topic in the Am I infected? What do I do? forum.
Follow the directions in that forum to get your assistance. Any further posts for help in this thread will be deleted without further notification.

Thank you for your understanding.
Klinkaroo
I had a few friends infected with this virus. These are the two ways I knew if it was real or not. Ask the person "Is this safe? Did you send it?" If they don't respond or say no... well then common sense dictates that you don't check it out anyways.

Plus if your friends are mostly French (Like me tongue.gif) and it says "CHECK THIS OUT! www.badlink.net" well I can be pretty sure it ain't them tongue.gif Why would they tell me in English?
tossy
Well, I also infected with this virus, I scanned using ad-adware but nothing had been found.
m0le
Can I just say congratulations to Animal on his 5,000th post.

As for dodgy links, you'd think that anyone on this forum would know to stay away from them.

Although that Angelina Jolie Naked email was very tempting ;)
xXAlphaXx
Heres how its spread: http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc236/n.../untitled-1.jpg
THAT IS NOT THE VIRUS IT IS A PICTURE.
El_Tel
I've been doing some research on this and it look like it's been going on for over a year now.
It is actually a Trojan.
What happens is that someone gets infected. Then their MSN sends a message with this link, to everyone on their contact list... When someone, like um- whistling.gif clicks the hysterical.gif link, they infect in_love.gif themselves and it just keeps going on and on.

I also found out you can get rid of this Trojan with the program called msnclean . exe
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.